RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Kris Anne Vogelpohl has deservedly been named the
- 2 Person of Vision for 2003 by the Prevent Blindness organization;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, An exemplary citizen, Ms. Vogelpohl has been
- 5 involved in humanitarian causes for many years; she is only the
- 6 second woman to receive a Person of Vision award from Prevent
- 7 Blindness, an organization that provides eye examinations and
- 8 glasses to the public and supports educational programs to prevent
- 9 blindness; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Well known for her work as a member of the board of
- 11 Prevent Blindness, Ms. Vogelpohl is also on the board of the Ronald
- 12 McDonald House; in addition, she has served for 40 years on the
- 13 board of the Salvation Army and is a former president of the Texas
- 14 Medical Auxiliary; and
- 15 WHEREAS, This esteemed woman attended Texas A&M University
- 16 and has distinguished herself throughout her career, having worked
- 17 for the Atomic Energy Commission and served as the chief
- 18 therapeutic dietician at The University of Texas Medical Branch in
- 19 Galveston; and
- WHEREAS, Under the administration of President Richard M.
- 21 Nixon, Ms. Vogelpohl was selected to serve on the Department of
- 22 Defense Advisory Committee on Women in Service; in this capacity,
- 23 she promoted the role of women in the military and helped to ensure
- that women were accepted into all military institutions; and

- WHEREAS, Kris Anne Vogelpohl has generously devoted her time and energy to the well-being of her fellowman, and her hard work in behalf of Prevent Blindness and numerous other vital organizations indeed merits special legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate Kris Anne Vogelpohl on being named
 the recipient of the 2003 Person of Vision award by Prevent
 Blindness and commend this remarkable woman for her many
 humanitarian endeavors; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Vogelpohl as an expression of esteem by the Texas House of Representatives.

Taylor

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Dunnam Telford Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Woolley Gattis Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 110 was adopted by the House on February 11, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House