## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For 32 years the Sabine Valley Center, a mental 2 health and mental retardation agency headquartered in Longview, has

provided the people of East Texas with vital services and support;

4 and

3

7

8

11

12

13

14

17

18

19

20

23

WHEREAS, The center assists more than 8,000 clients,

6 including individuals with mental illness or mental retardation,

people suffering from substance abuse, and children with

developmental disabilities; and

9 WHEREAS, Among the many forms of support offered by the 10 agency are diagnostic, counseling, and psychiatric services, a

24-hour-a-day crisis line, residential services and youth shelter

programs, and vocational training and rehabilitation; the center

strives to meet the needs of its clients through community-based

programs and assistance as an alternative to treatment in a state

15 institution; and

16 WHEREAS, Through community education efforts, the center

also endeavors to reduce the stigma of mental illness and mental

retardation; one such program is its annual Destination Dignity

event, an occasion designed to promote public support for, and

understanding of, people with mental disabilities; and

21 WHEREAS, The center has created a foundation to encourage the

22 involvement of private citizens and local businesses in supporting

and strengthening its many crucial services; a volunteer program

24 also enables area residents to contribute to the center's essential

work; and 1

2 WHEREAS, Now in its fourth decade, the Sabine Valley Center 3 continues to pursue its mission of "helping people to achieve 4 dignity, independence, and their dreams," and it is a pleasure to recognize its manifold contributions at this time; now, therefore, 5

6 be it

7

8

9

10

11

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Sabine Valley Center for its central role in promoting the well-being of East Texas citizens and extend to all those associated with the center sincere best wishes for continued success.

Merritt

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Dunnam Telford Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Woolley Gattis Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 112 was adopted by the House on February 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House