H.R. No. 120

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Pharmaceutical manufacturer Pfizer, Inc., is 2 celebrating its 154th anniversary in 2003, and this milestone is 3 indeed worthy of special recognition; and

WHEREAS, A global leader in the production of prescription medications and consumer products, Pfizer, Inc., is dedicated to discovering and developing new medicines and working in partnership to make them available to people around the world; and

8 WHEREAS, Pfizer, Inc., leads the pharmaceutical industry in 9 annual research and development investment, dedicating \$5.2 10 billion to that pursuit in 2002; the company is currently 11 researching 20 different therapeutic classes, including cancer, 12 cardiovascular, diabetes, obesity, urology, and antivirals; and

13 WHEREAS, Pfizer, Inc., has been recognized as the largest 14 corporate donor in the United States by *The Chronicle of* 15 *Philanthropy*; in the past year alone the company donated more than 16 \$450 million in medications to indigent and uninsured Americans; in 17 addition, the company was recently named Company of the Year by 18 *Forbes* magazine, which has also recognized it as one of the "100 19 Best Companies to Work for in America"; and

20 WHEREAS, Pfizer's Living Share Card program enables 21 qualified, low-income Medicare beneficiaries to receive most 22 Pfizer medications for a flat fee, and the company's employees in 23 Texas donated more than \$359,000 to nonprofit organizations in 24 2002, and an additional \$332,000 was donated through the United Way

1

H.R. No. 120

1 to Texas community organizations; and

2 WHEREAS, Through its myriad contributions, Pfizer, Inc., has 3 significantly improved the quality of life for many citizens of the 4 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 6 Legislature hereby honor Pfizer, Inc., on its 154th anniversary and 7 extend best wishes to Pfizer employees in Texas.

Truitt

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woollev Zedler

H.R. No. 120

H.R. No. 120

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 120 was adopted by the House on February 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House