## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas 2 is pleased to recognize the Leon High School Lady Cougars for 3 winning the Class 2A state volleyball championship title for 2002; 4 and 5 WHEREAS, The Lady Cougars defeated the Prairiland Patriots in the championship match of the state tournament by the score of 5-15, 6 15-14, and 15-10, avenging their loss to the Patriots in the 2001 7 final; the team's victory gave the Lady Cougars their eighth state 8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

championship title; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding athletes demonstrated awesome talent and perseverance during the playoffs, and the team players, Brandy Hickman, Jordan Helmcamp, Lauren Jones, Mindy Alexander, Kendra Bates, Haley Thomas, Staci Neyland, Julie Jensen, Melissa Padgett, Sarah Jernigan, Lisa White, and Beth St.Pe' deserve to be proud of their efforts and outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of their head coach, Teresa Sitton, and their assistant coaches, Mia Lowry, Vicki McCune, and Misty Jimenez, the Lady Cougars demonstrated team spirit and tenacity in achieving the state championship; and

WHEREAS, Leon High School can take great pride in the Lady Cougars and their exceptional skills; the team has brought honor to the school and to the community; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature hereby commend the Leon High School Lady Cougars for

- 1 their accomplishment and extend to them best wishes for the future;
- 2 and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the Lady Cougars as an expression of esteem from the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Dunnam

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Dunnam Telford Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 124 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House