## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On this day, a delegation of students participating in the McDermott Scholars Program is visiting the State Capitol,

and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize this

4 outstanding program; and

3

7

8

9

11

12

13

16

17

18

20

21

22

5 WHEREAS, Since its endowment in the fall of 2000, the

6 McDermott Scholars Program has sought to build a brighter future

for Texans by attracting top students from throughout the state and

across the nation to pursue their higher education at The

University of Texas at Dallas; and

10 WHEREAS, The program, initiated by Margaret McDermott and

named for her husband and cofounder of Texas Instruments, Eugene

McDermott, selects participants who have demonstrated a deeply

rooted commitment to academic excellence, community service, and

leadership both on and off campus; and

WHEREAS, Through private endowment funds, these young men and

women are then presented with the opportunity to share in

leadership training, fine arts education, and invaluable travel

experiences, including regular visits to the Dallas Symphony

19 Orchestra, the Dallas Opera, local museums, art galleries, plays,

and concerts; in addition, first-year scholars are invited on trips

to Austin and Washington, D.C., to meet with elected officials and

experience the cultural diversity of our state and nation's capital

23 cities; and

24 WHEREAS, McDermott Scholars represent our next generation of

- 1 business leaders, scientists, physicians, professors, attorneys,
- 2 and public servants, and it is a privilege to recognize this
- 3 outstanding program; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the McDermott
- 6 Scholars Program for their commitment to education and community
- 7 service and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 8 success; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the McDermott Scholars as an expression of high regard
- 11 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hill

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Dunnam Telford Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 141 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House