RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Dr. Exalton and Wilhelmina Delco Activity Center in Northeast Austin, a facility of the Austin Independent School District (AISD), is being dedicated in honor of two of the city's most distinguished civic leaders; and

5 WHEREAS, For more than 30 years, Dr. Exalton Delco and his 6 wife, the Honorable Wilhelmina Delco, have given unstintingly of 7 their time, talents, and energies in such vital arenas as 8 education, the arts, civic endeavors, and public service; and

WHEREAS, A highly regarded professor of biology and college 9 administrator, Dr. Delco has served during his impressive career as 10 11 department head at Texas Southern University and as vice president 12 of academic affairs at both Huston-Tillotson College and Austin 13 Community College (ACC), and as special assistant to the president 14 at The University of Texas at Austin; further, he has chaired advisory committees of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating 15 Board, assisted the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools as 16 an accrediting team member, and served as an advisor to the 17 presidents of both ACC and The University of Texas at Austin; and 18

WHEREAS, His civic leadership has benefited a host of local groups and institutions, including the Leadership Austin Advisory Council, LBJ Science Academy Board, Austin-Travis County Mental Health/Mental Retardation Center, and Austin Symphony Orchestra; the recipient of numerous accolades, he has been listed in American Men of Science, Who's Who in American Education, and Who's Who in

1

1 American College and University Administration; and

2 WHEREAS, Mrs. Delco's involvement with Parent-Teacher 3 Association activities, her initial foray into community service, was followed by her election in 1968 to the AISD Board of Trustees, 4 a victory that marked the first time an African American had been 5 elected to public office in the Capital City; she subsequently 6 served as a founding member of the ACC Board of Trustees and 7 8 currently chairs the Huston-Tillotson College Board of Trustees; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, In 1974, Mrs. Delco became the first African 11 American elected at large from Travis County to the Texas House of 12 Representatives; during her 10 terms in office, she served on more 13 than 20 committees, chaired the house higher education committee, 14 and in 1991, became the first woman appointed speaker pro tempore; 15 and

WHEREAS, This esteemed individual has been accorded a number 16 17 of honors, including the AISD Black Heritage Award, the American Association of Community Colleges' 1991 National Leadership Award, 18 and induction into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame; moreover, she has 19 received honorary doctoral degrees 20 from 10 colleges and 21 universities; and

22 WHEREAS, Longtime partners in marriage as well as community 23 service, the Delcos serve as inspiring role models for their family 24 and many admirers as they continue to keep busy schedules; both are 25 adjunct professors for the Community College Leadership Program at 26 The University of Texas at Austin and participate on many boards and 27 committees; and

2

1 WHEREAS, Dr. and Mrs. Delco have demonstrated the utmost 2 commitment to enhancing the quality of life of their fellow Texans, 3 and it is most appropriate that they be honored for their 4 immeasurable contributions to the people of Austin and the Lone 5 Star State; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 7 Legislature hereby commemorate the dedication of the Dr. Exalton 8 and Wilhelmina Delco Activity Center and extend heartfelt best 9 wishes to Dr. and Mrs. Delco for continued success and fulfillment; 10 and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Dr. and Mrs. Delco as an expression of high regard by 13 the Texas House of Representatives.

Dukes

3

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 142

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 142 was adopted by the House on February 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House