H.R. No. 188

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Seymour FFA Meat Judging Team of Cory Coltharp,
- 2 Greg Knezek, Phillip Nix, and Casey Lawrence has ascended to
- 3 national prominence in their discipline by winning first place at
- 4 the National Western Stock Show in Denver; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Students from across the U.S. competed in four
- 6 categories, placing class, retail cut identification, beef carcass
- 7 grading, and placing questions, and the Seymour Meat Judging Team
- 8 took the top spot by scoring 100 points more than their closest
- 9 competitor; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In addition to their remarkable team
- 11 accomplishment, Greg Knezek, Cory Coltharp, and Phillip Nix, took
- 12 second, third, and fourth places in individual competition; and
- WHEREAS, Coach Jimmy Carter, an agricultural sciences
- 14 teacher at Seymour, provided exceptional guidance and
- 15 encouragement to the members of the team, who also received
- 16 tremendous support from their parents and the school's
- 17 administration; and
- WHEREAS, Competing successfully at the national level
- 19 requires great dedication and painstaking preparation; the members
- of the Seymour FFA Meat Judging Team have consistently demonstrated
- 21 these qualities, and their perseverance and hard work have secured
- 22 for their school a national honor; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Cory Coltharp, Greg Knezek,

H.R. No. 188

- 1 Phillip Nix, and Casey Lawrence on their first place finish at the
- 2 National FFA Meat Judging Contest and extend to them sincere best
- 3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for these exemplary young Texans as an expression of high
- 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hardcastle

TT	$\Gamma$	1A T -	188
н	$\sim$	$N \cap$	1 🛛

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 188 was adopted by the House on March 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House