H.R. No. 231

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly four decades, Community Action Agencies 2 (CAAs) in Texas have provided vital services to the Lone Star 3 State's most vulnerable citizens in an effort to help them combat 4 poverty and become self-sufficient; and

5 WHEREAS, Created under the Economic Opportunity Act signed 6 into law by President Lyndon Baines Johnson in 1964, CAAs may be 7 found in 45 locations throughout the state, each of which is 8 operated by a board of directors composed of elected officials, 9 civic leaders, and low-income area residents; and

10 WHEREAS, CAAs provide a wide range of services that have kept 11 pace with the changing needs of society, encompassing day care for 12 youth and adults, emergency food and clothing distribution, 13 domestic violence and substance abuse prevention and treatment, 14 literacy classes, employment training, small business development, 15 and a host of other programs too numerous to mention; and

16 WHEREAS, Living up to their motto, "Helping people. Changing 17 lives," Community Action Agencies have made innumerable 18 contributions to making Texas a better place in which to live, work, 19 and raise a family; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 21 Legislature heartily commend the administrators, employees, and 22 supporters of Community Action Agencies in Texas for their 23 exceptional efforts to improve the lives of all of the citizens of 24 this state; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 231

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for the Texas Association of Community Action Agencies as 3 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives. Naishtat

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

## H.R. No. 231

H.R. No. 231

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 231 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House