H.R. No. 241

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 25, 2003, many fine Texans have traveled 2 to Austin to celebrate Beaumont Day at the State Capitol, and it is 3 a privilege to welcome them at this time; and

WHEREAS, Situated along the west bank of the Neches River, just 30 miles upstream from the Gulf of Mexico, Beaumont was made the seat of Jefferson County in 1838; throughout the remainder of the 19th century, the community developed as a trading center for lumber, cattle, and agricultural products; and

9 WHEREAS, The Anthony F. Lucas Gusher erupted at Spindletop 10 Hill, just south of Beaumont, on January 10, 1901, and changed the 11 course of history for this Southeast Texas town; in the years that 12 followed, some 600 oil companies were created in the city, 13 including such industry leaders as Texaco, Exxon, and Mobil Oil, 14 and Beaumont became one of the state's most important oil-producing 15 centers; and

16 WHEREAS, The Spindletop-Gladys City Boomtown Museum commemorates this event and provides visitors with a glimpse of 17 what life was like in the world's first oil boomtown; the museum 18 site features a post office, saloon, livery stable, blacksmith 19 shop, and surveyor's office all in typical clapboard style, as well 20 21 as wooden oil derricks and a monument to the Lucas Gusher; and

22 WHEREAS, While based in large part on the petroleum and 23 petrochemical industries, Beaumont's economy also encompasses 24 shipbuilding and port activities, government offices and services,

1

H.R. No. 241

1 and rice milling; and

2 WHEREAS, Rich in history, Beaumont is committed to preserving 3 its heritage for both residents and visitors alike; among the 4 city's many attractions are the Babe Didrikson Zaharias Museum and 5 Visitors Center, the Clifton Steamboat Museum, the French Historic 6 House and Museum, the Texas Energy Museum, the Tyrrell Historical 7 Library, and numerous art galleries; and

8 WHEREAS, An educational as well as cultural center, Beaumont 9 is home to the main campus of Lamar University, whose extensive 10 contributions to the city's vitality include a well-regarded and 11 thriving film festival; in addition, the city serves as a base for 12 numerous outdoor pursuits, with the internationally acclaimed Big 13 Thicket National Preserve offering myriad opportunities for 14 relaxation and enjoyment; and

WHEREAS, Blessed with an abundance of natural resources and a dedicated citizenry, the city of Beaumont is destined to continue on its path to success, and its residents can undoubtedly look forward to a bright and promising future for their community; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2003, as Beaumont Day at 22 the State Capitol and extend to the delegation with us today sincere 23 best wishes for a memorable and meaningful visit.

> Deshotel Ritter

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woollev Zedler

H.R. No. 241

H.R. No. 241

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 241 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House