RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Presidential Museum and Leadership Library in

Odessa is presenting its inaugural George E. "Buddy" West

Leadership Award on February 17, 2003, to the outstanding Texas

4 legislator for whom it has been named; and

5 WHEREAS, This significant honor is a fitting tribute to

6 Representative West, who for nine years has served on the museum's

board of trustees and who has shown exemplary leadership in his work

8 in behalf of West Texas businesses, community groups, and public

9 agencies; and

2

3

7

11

12

13

14

18

19

20

10 WHEREAS, A proud Odessan for nearly six decades, he has long

distinguished himself in the community as a man of dedication and

integrity; he is retired from a successful 30-year career with

Amoco Production Company and has shared his time and expertise with

such worthy civic organizations as the Odessa Rotary Club, the

Odessa Chamber of Commerce, the Chuck Wagon Gang, and the Boy Scouts

16 of America; and

WHEREAS, In 1992, Representative West won election to the

Texas House of Representatives, and his diligence and commitment to

the duties of his office have earned him the respect and admiration

of peers and constituents alike; he brings a wealth of experience to

21 his committee assignments this session as chairman of the House

22 Energy Resources Committee and as a member of both the

23 Environmental Regulation and House Administration committees, and

24 his contributions to the work of this body throughout the course of

- 1 his legislative tenure cannot be overstated; and
- 2 WHEREAS, He has garnered countless awards from a host of
- 3 diverse organizations that include the United Way, the Odessa
- 4 Police Department, the Texas Commission on the Arts, The University
- of Texas of the Permian Basin, and the Texas Tech University School
- 6 of Nursing; and
- WHEREAS, With hard work and an abiding belief in the
- 8 potential of all Texans, this esteemed legislator has represented
- 9 his constituents with the utmost distinction; he has proven himself
- 10 to be a man of vision and leadership in his service to his
- 11 community, state, and nation, and the creation of this award in his
- 12 honor is truly well deserved; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 14 Legislature heartily congratulate the Honorable G. E. "Buddy" West
- on his receipt of the George E. "Buddy" West Leadership Award from
- 16 The Presidential Museum and Leadership Library; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Representative West as an expression of high regard by
- 19 his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Harper-Brown Burnam Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Quintanilla Castro Hochberg Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Норе Christian Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford Driver King Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Dunnam Telford Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Truitt Laney Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Elkins Luna Van Arsdale Ellis Mabry Villarreal Wilson Farabee Madden Wise Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 244 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House