RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives takes great
- 2 pleasure in welcoming to the Capitol a delegation of students,
- 3 faculty, staff, alumni, and friends from the four University of
- 4 Houston System campuses; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The University of Houston, the University of
- 6 Houston-Clear Lake, the University of Houston-Downtown, and the
- 7 University of Houston-Victoria each provide educational
- 8 opportunities to the increasingly diverse population of the greater
- 9 Houston metropolitan area, the Coastal Bend, and indeed all of
- 10 Texas; and
- 11 WHEREAS, These institutions of higher learning are also
- 12 engaged in hundreds of partnerships with businesses and
- 13 corporations, government agencies, public schools, and health and
- 14 human service agencies throughout the nation and these partnerships
- enhance the economic, social, and cultural life of Texas; and
- WHEREAS, A great majority of University of Houston alumni
- 17 remain in the Lone Star State and many go on to attain leadership
- 18 positions in the business, technology, education, government,
- 19 media, entertainment, human and health services, and scientific
- 20 communities; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The University of Houston System is a valuable
- 22 contributor to the success of our state, and the dedicated
- 23 individuals who have traveled to Austin to support their university
- 24 are to be commended; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2003, as University of
- 3 Houston System Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 4 delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable stay.

Coleman

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 253 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House