H.R. No. 254

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 honor the members of the Chinese Professional Club of Houston (CPC) 3 for the organization's long history of good works in the Houston 4 area; and

5 WHEREAS, Organized in 1950, the club was established to 6 improve the professional knowledge and business skills of its 7 members, to promote the general welfare of the community, and to 8 advance the mutual understanding and social enjoyment of members; 9 and

WHEREAS, One of the CPC's most recognized initiatives is its annual scholarship program, which provides merit scholarships and financial assistance to students of Chinese descent in the Houston area; since its inception in 1977, the scholarship program has positively affected the lives of many Texans, helping them to build brighter and more promising futures for themselves, their families, and the state; and

WHEREAS, Members of the CPC also participate in such activities as the Asian American Women's Health Symposium and the Asian American Tennis Classic and host a variety of social events; and

21 WHEREAS, Under the capable leadership of President Daniel Hu, 22 the CPC has demonstrated a deeply rooted commitment to improving 23 the quality of life for their fellow Houstonians, and it is a 24 pleasure to recognize the members of this outstanding organization

1

H.R. No. 254

1 for their dedicated efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the Chinese Professional Club of Houston on their myriad contributions to the community and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Chinese Professional Club of Houston as an
expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wong

H.R. No. 254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 254 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House