H.R. No. 262

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust Council has announced the
- 2 winners of the 2nd Annual Texas Medal of Arts Awards, and these
- 3 esteemed individuals will be honored on March 25, 2003, at the
- 4 historic Paramount Theatre in Austin; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards honor outstanding
- 6 Texans in a variety of disciplines, including dance, music, film
- 7 and television acting, literary arts, visual arts, theater, folk
- 8 arts, architectural restoration, arts education, and arts
- 9 patronage; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This year's honorees are Lifetime Achievement Award
- 11 winner and acclaimed Texas writer John Graves, Broadway legend
- 12 Tommy Tune, Grammy Award winner Charley Pride, legendary actor Fess
- 13 Parker, award-winning writer Sandra Cisneros, noted sculptor
- 14 Glenna Goodacre, theater arts sensation Enid Holm, folk musician
- 15 Lydia Mendoza, arts educator Marca Lee Bircher, and philanthropist
- 16 Nancy B. Hamon; and
- 17 WHEREAS, In addition, the architectural restoration award
- 18 will be presented to the State Capitol Preservation Project, while
- 19 ExxonMobil and Houston Endowment, Inc., will be honored
- 20 respectively as corporate arts and foundation arts patrons; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards help to promote
- 22 awareness and raise funds for the arts throughout Texas, with
- 23 special emphasis placed on the development and support of youth
- 24 education programs, and this outstanding program has truly improved

H.R. No. 262

- 1 the state of the arts in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 25, 2003, as Texas Medal of Arts
- 4 Awards Day at the Capitol and extend best wishes to the members of
- 5 the Texas Cultural Trust Council, the Texas Commission on the Arts,
- 6 and this year's Texas Medal of Arts Awards honorees; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the 2003 Texas Medal of Arts Awards winners as an
- 10 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hunter Hilderbran

TT	_	7. T	つんつ
Н	-	NΩ	161

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 262 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House