H.R. No. 281

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Founded in Lufkin more than seven decades ago, the
2 Atkinson Candy Company has long fed the cravings of many Americans
3 with its distinctive sugary treats, and one of its most popular
4 candies, the Chick-O-Stick, remains a particular favorite among
5 Lone Star residents; and
6 WHEREAS, The roots of this venerable company extend back to

WHEREAS, The roots of this venerable company extend back to 1932, during the Great Depression, when 25-year-old Basil E. Atkinson launched a small candy and tobacco wholesale business; six years later he began to manufacture his own candy, laying the foundation for a multimillion-dollar company that is currently ranked among the nation's top 10 suppliers of Halloween confections; and

WHEREAS, Employing more than 150 workers, the Atkinson Candy Company is the largest candy company in the state; it is now run by the founder's grandson, Eric Atkinson, and uses many of the original machines to produce its nostalgic line of sweets; and

WHEREAS, The company's best-selling treat is clearly the Chick-O-Stick, a crunchy orange stick made with ground roasted peanuts, sugar, and toasted coconut; in 2000, the company produced more than 256 million of the candies and sold them across the United States and in several other countries; Atkinson also produces mints, Peanut Butter Bars, and a coconut peanut brittle; and

WHEREAS, The candy industry faces many challenges, including globalization and the high domestic cost of sugar, which are

H.R. No. 281

- 1 forcing many businesses to move out of the country; despite those
- 2 concerns, the Atkinson family is firmly committed to keeping their
- 3 production in Texas, and their dedication to the state, together
- 4 with their commitment to quality, has won them the respect of their
- 5 industry and the loyalty of employees and customers alike; and
- 6 WHEREAS, With deep roots in the Lone Star State, the Atkinson
- 7 Candy Company has cheered generations of Texans with the unique and
- 8 enduring Chick-O-Stick, and it is indeed a pleasure to recognize
- 9 both the company and its famous product at this time; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby honor the Atkinson Candy Company and its popular
- 13 Chick-O-Stick for their significant contributions to the economic
- 14 vitality of East Texas and for the pure pleasure they have brought
- to countless citizens nationwide; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the Atkinson Candy Company as an expression of high
- 18 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McReynolds

## H.R. No. 281

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Dunnam Telford Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

	_	3.7	201
Н		NO	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 281 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House