H.R. No. 283

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Duval County have gathered 2 in Austin to celebrate Duval County Day at the State Capitol, and 3 this notable event offers an ideal opportunity to recognize the 4 county's many fine attributes; and

5 WHEREAS, Duval County was formed in 1858 and named after Burr 6 H. Duval, who fought in the Texas Revolution and was killed in the 7 Goliad Massacre; and

8 WHEREAS, The community experienced tremendous growth after 9 the Civil War, helping to make Duval County a major sheep ranching 10 center; in the 1870s it reportedly had more sheep than any other 11 county of the United States; and

12 WHEREAS, San Diego, chosen as the county seat in 1876, was the 13 site where Father Claude Jaillet had built a 10-by-30-foot wooden 14 church in 1867, which stood as the only place of worship between 15 Corpus Christi and the Rio Grande; and

16 WHEREAS, Freer, the second largest town in the county, gained 17 prominence in 1928, when three wildcatters in the area struck one of 18 the nation's largest oil reserves; the discovery of oil soon turned 19 Freer into what *Life* magazine called "the last of the tough frontier 20 oil towns," and by 1933 it was the second largest oil field in the 21 United States; and

22 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the area's many 23 annual celebrations, including the Freer annual Rattlesnake 24 Roundup in April; and

1

H.R. No. 283

1 WHEREAS, The people of Duval County take great pride in the 2 rich history of their community, yet are also eager to embrace the 3 challenges and opportunities of the years to come; it gives the 4 members of this chamber great pleasure to honor them at this time; 5 now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize March 6, 2003, as Duval County Day at 8 the State Capitol and extend warmest wishes to all of the county's 9 citizens on this noteworthy occasion.

Guillen

H.R. No. 283

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 283 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House