H.R. No. 286

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans from the cities of La Porte, Morgan's Point, 2 and Shoreacres are visiting the State Capitol on February 20, 2003, 3 to celebrate the many fine attributes of these Gulf Coast 4 communities; and

5 WHEREAS, Situated a short distance east of Houston, the 6 cities offer residents both the advantages of small-town life and 7 the nearby amenities of a large metropolis; and

WHEREAS, The La Porte-Bayshore Chamber of Commerce ably 8 promotes the economic development of these fine communities; 9 established in 1922 to serve the city of La Porte, the chamber took 10 11 its new name in 1972 when it expanded to include Morgan's Point, 12 Shoreacres, and Lomax, a town that later merged with La Porte; 13 employing three professional staff members and drawing strength 14 from a vast body of volunteers, the chamber maintains a coordinated economic development strategy for the area, promotes the value of 15 local businesses to the community, and strives to address issues of 16 concern to local businesses; and 17

WHEREAS, Each spring, the chamber also sponsors the hugely popular Sylvan Beach Festival and Crawfish Jam; now in its 47th year, the festival takes place at Sylvan Beach Park, site of a renowned resort/dance pavilion in the 1920s and 1930s; bands that once performed at the park include those of Rudy Vallee, Phil Harris, and Benny Goodman; and

24

WHEREAS, Members of the La Porte-Bayshore Chamber of Commerce

1

and their fellow citizens are proud of their achievements and are looking forward with confidence to the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead; now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 20, 2003, as La 6 Porte/Morgan's Point/Shoreacres Day at the State Capitol and extend 7 to all those in attendance today best wishes for an enjoyable and 8 memorable visit.

> Smith of Harris Davis of Harris

H.R. No. 286

H.R. No. 286

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 286 was adopted by the House on February 20, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House