H.R. No. 298

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Small businesses are a vital and dynamic force in 2 the economy of this state, and ACCION Texas has done a great service 3 by helping small-business owners succeed; and

WHEREAS, ACCION Texas is a nonprofit organization that provides credit to small businesses that do not have access to loans from commercial sources; and

7 WHEREAS, Established in 1994, the organization began with a 8 single office in San Antonio; today, it is the largest agency of its 9 kind in the United States, operating facilities in eight cities and 10 lending in more than 200 communities throughout the Lone Star 11 State; and

12 WHEREAS, This worthwhile organization encourages the success 13 of underrepresented business owners and enables hard-working 14 entrepreneurs to meet their needs for working capital; and

15 WHEREAS, With the aid of ACCION Texas, small-business owners 16 are able to strengthen their businesses, stabilize their income, 17 create additional employment, and contribute to the economic 18 revitalization of their communities; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 20 Legislature hereby commend ACCION Texas for its support of small 21 businesses and extend best wishes to all those associated with this 22 community-minded organization; and, be it further

23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
24 prepared for ACCION Texas as an expression of high regard by the

1

H.R. No. 298

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Jones of Bexar Castro Martinez Fischer

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woollev Zedler

## H.R. No. 298

H.R. No. 298

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 298 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House