RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Joe L. Price, Trinity County district attorney, was an outstanding Texan and devoted public servant whose untimely passing on February 21, 2003, at the age of 58, has brought great sorrow to his family, friends, colleagues, and community; and

WHEREAS, Born August 21, 1944, Mr. Price proudly served, unopposed, as the elected district attorney of the 258th Judicial District since 1977; a 1962 graduate of Trinity High School, he earned degrees from Sam Houston State University in 1966 and Baylor University Law School in 1969; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, Mr. Price fought tirelessly to attain justice for victims of crime and their families during his 26-year tenure as the district attorney in Groveton; one of the Lone Star State's longest-sitting district attorneys, he embraced the life of a public servant and relentlessly pursued his goal of swift and fair legal action in behalf of the citizens of Texas; and

WHEREAS, In the thousands of criminal prosecutions brought by Mr. Price, he never lost sight of the fact that at the root of every crime is a victim whose life has been permanently changed, and at the heart of those heinous crimes involving loss of life is a family who will never again be able to tell the victim how much that person is loved; his compassionate work with families left behind, including the loved ones of capital murder victim Pamela Mosely Carpenter, serves as a blueprint and an inspiration for all prosecutors; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Price was an invaluable colleague and member of

- 1 the Texas District and County Attorneys Association Board of
- 2 Directors, as well as a board member of the Kalin House Child
- 3 Advocacy Center and the Trinity scholarship fund, and he was an
- 4 active supporter of the Trinity County Fair and the young people of
- 5 Trinity County; in addition, Mr. Price generously shared his
- 6 extensive knowledge of criminal law and prosecution with his fellow
- 7 prosecutors and with college students; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Those who were privileged to know Joe Price will
- 9 long miss his presence, and his remarkable contributions to
- 10 criminal justice and the rights of crime victims in this state will
- 11 not soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Trinity
- 14 County district attorney Joe L. Price and extend sincere sympathy
- to the members of his family and to his loyal staff: to his parents,
- 16 Dean and Johnnie Price; to his daughters and son-in-law, Aenea
- 17 Marburger and Jo Lin and Lance Brownlee; to his grandchildren,
- 18 Price Brownlee and Marshall and Jenna Marburger; to his sister and
- 19 brother-in-law, Judy and Bill Burton; to his nieces, Julie and
- 20 Ceslie; to his assistant, Deana Bell; to his investigator, Ron
- 21 Dunnahoe; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it
- 22 further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Joe L.
- 26 Price.

McReynolds

Giddings Craddick Merritt Allen Goodman Miller Alonzo Goolsby Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Bailey Griggs Grusendorf Baxter Morrison Mowery Berman Guillen Bohac Gutierrez Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Branch Hamilton Noriega Brown of Kaufman Hamric Oliveira Brown of Brazos Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Hartnett Heflin Callegari Pena Campbell Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hilderbran Capelo Pitts Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Hopson Riddle Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Rodriguez Hughes Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Hupp Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Crownover Isett Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Smithee Jones of Dallas Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland Denny Stick Deshotel Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Krusee Telford Dunnam Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Eiland Turner Laubenberg Eissler Lewis Uresti Elkins Luna Van Arsdale Ellis Villarreal Mabry Madden Farabee West Farrar Marchant Wilson Martinez Fischer Wise Flores McCall Wohlgemuth Flynn Gallego McClendon Wolens Garza McReynolds Wong Menendez Gattis Woolley Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 312 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 24, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House