H.R. No. 320

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On October 27, 2002, Emmitt Smith became the 2 National Football League's career rushing leader, eclipsing a 3 record set by Walter Payton that had stood unchallenged for 15 4 years; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Smith set the new rushing milestone in the 6 fourth quarter of the Cowboys' game against the Seattle Seahawks, 7 taking the ball over the left side for an 11-yard gain that 8 simultaneously vaulted him into the NFL history books; and

9 WHEREAS, An All-American and three-time All-SEC performer at 10 the University of Florida, he joined the Cowboys organization in 11 1990, and the qualities of speed, quickness, power, and competitive 12 spirit that had enabled him to become a collegiate star quickly 13 established Mr. Smith as one of the premier offensive threats in the 14 NFL; and

15 WHEREAS, Over the ensuing 13 years, Mr. Smith's consistently 16 high level of performance has won him four NFL rushing titles, the 17 league's Most Valuable Player award in 1993, Most Valuable Player 18 distinction for Super Bowl XXVIII, and three Super Bowl rings; and

WHEREAS, He was also a Pro Bowl selection eight times, more than any other player in franchise history, was the first player to record 11 1,000-yard rushing seasons in a career, and holds the NFL record for most career rushing attempts; and

23 WHEREAS, Mr. Smith is a force to be reckoned with off the 24 field as well and has lent his time, energy, and celebrity to such

1

H.R. No. 320

worthy organizations and initiatives as the Open Doors Foundation, which he cofounded, the Make-A-Wish Foundation, the United Way, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, the Kidney Foundation, and others too numerous to mention; and

5 WHEREAS, One of the greatest competitors ever to step onto 6 the playing field, Emmitt Smith is a gridiron legend whose 7 phenomenal accomplishments as a football player may never be 8 duplicated, and it is appropriate that he receive special 9 legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Emmitt Smith on becoming the NFL's 12 all-time career rushing leader and extend to him sincere best 13 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Mr. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas 16 House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woollev Zedler

H.R. No. 320

H.R. No. 320

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 320 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House