H.R. No. 385

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On March 5, 2003, a delegation of Eagle Pass residents is visiting the State Capitol, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor one of the city's outstanding citizens, Rodolfo "Fito" Barrera, on his many civic contributions; and

WHEREAS, The mayor of Eagle Pass from 1980 to 1982, Mr. Barrera is a natural leader who has given generously of his time and talents to help build a brighter future for his community; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, this esteemed gentleman has served as the director of the Maverick County Development Corporation as well as president and treasurer of both the Eagle Pass Athletic Booster Club and the Lions Club, director of the chamber of commerce, and member of the IBC Bank board; in addition, he is the founder of the Barrera Heights Project and was instrumental in bringing Southwest Texas Junior College to Eagle Pass in 1972; and

WHEREAS, The youth of Maverick County also hold a special place in Mr. Barrera's heart, as is reflected in his sponsorship of baseball and soccer teams in the community and contributions to the annual livestock show, which benefits local 4-H and FFA students; and

WHEREAS, Named Citizen of the Year in Maverick County in 1996, Mr. Barrera has won the respect of his community and serves as an inspiration to all who know of him, and it is a pleasure to recognize him at this time; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 385

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Rodolfo "Fito" Barrera on his tireless
- 3 efforts in behalf of his fellow Maverick County residents and
- 4 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 5 happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Barrera as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Garza

H.R. No. 385

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

TT	Γ	TAT -	205
н	R	$N \cap$	385

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 385 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House