H.R. No. 399

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death 2 for drivers aged 16 to 20, as demonstrated by the deaths of more 3 than 5,000 teenagers nationwide during 2000, and the serious injury 4 of many more teenage drivers and passengers during that time; and

5 WHEREAS, Across Texas and across the United States, research 6 shows that teenage drivers are seven times more likely to be injured 7 or killed in a motor vehicle accident; and

8 WHEREAS, This serious problem is evident in the San Antonio 9 region, where 24 young people were killed in motor vehicle 10 accidents in 2000, with 10 of those deaths occurring in one six-week 11 period; and

12 WHEREAS, The students, faculty, and administration of 13 William Howard Taft High School, in San Antonio's Northside 14 Independent School District, have joined forces with the Texas Department of Transportation and the Texas Transportation 15 Institute to reverse this tragic trend through the development of a 16 unique teen driver awareness program, project Y.I.E.L.D., or Youths 17 18 Informing Every Living Driver; and

WHEREAS, This creative effort is distinguished by its unique peer-to-peer approach and it is the first such program of its kind in Texas; through the actions of its students, faculty, and administration, William Howard Taft High School has demonstrated bold leadership that will undoubtedly save the lives of countless young Texans; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 399 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby recognize the students of project Y.I.E.L.D., along with their state agency partners, for their innovation, dedication, and important contribution to their school, to their community, and to the State of Texas.

Mercer

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 399

H.R. No. 399

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 399 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House