RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State lost a beloved citizen and 2 courageous patriot when Roy Alan Bracher of Spring Branch passed 3 away on March 9, 2003, at the age of 82; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Bracher was born in Austin on April 14, 1920; he attended Texas A&M University but left in his senior year to answer his country's call to duty during World War II, and he continued his service through the Korean War; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

WHEREAS, A civil engineer, Mr. Bracher served as a captain in the United States Army; he landed at Normandy on D-Day +3 with the 376th Engineer Airborne Battalion and worked on the construction of the first airstrip to be used by the Allied Forces and on succeeding landing strips behind the retreating German lines; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Bracher witnessed the atrocities at the Dachau concentration camp; he wrote to his mother about his experiences, and his letter is now on display at the Holocaust Museum in Houston; and

WHEREAS, After settling in Spring Branch, Mr. Bracher raised
a family and built homes in the community; he owned Bracher
Construction Company, which constructed streets and bridges for the
City of Houston, and his residential rental properties continue to
provide affordable housing for low-income and middle-income
families; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Bracher was a former member of the Heights
Rotary Club and a valued and respected member of his community; and

WHEREAS, Through his service to his country, his dedication to his family, and the myriad contributions he made toward the betterment of the lives of his fellow Texans, Mr. Bracher left an enduring legacy enshrined in the hearts of those individuals who were fortunate enough to have known him; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Roy Alan Bracher and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Fay; to his children and their spouses, Roy Alan and Shelly Bracher, Linda and Jeffrey Lehmann, Lanelle and Ronnie Simms, Philip and Rosalind Belitsky, Irwin Belitsky, and Ralph Belitsky; to his grandchildren, Lora Bergeron, Lindsay Janek, Lisa Sweitzer, Cody Alan and Caitlyn Renee Bracher, and Catherine Alexis, Lorraine, Michael, Matthew, and Melissa Belitsky; to his three great-grandchildren; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 19 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Roy Alan 20 Bracher.

Hegar

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 487 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 13, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House