H.R. No. 496

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, El Paso's Luis Gutierrez will compete at the 2 Everlast Men's U.S. National Boxing Championships being held in 3 Colorado Springs March 24-28, 2003, and it is indeed a pleasure to 4 wish him well in this endeavor; and

5 WHEREAS, The lone representative from El Paso, Mr. Gutierrez 6 advanced to the national tournament after winning both of his 7 fights by knockout at the state championships held in January; and

8 WHEREAS, A light heavyweight known for his stamina, 9 relentless body attacks, and vicious right-handed punch, this 10 finely conditioned athlete has been boxing for just under five 11 years; and

12 WHEREAS, Mr. Gutierrez fought his way into the semifinals at 13 last year's national tournament, and that experience will 14 undoubtedly give him an edge at this year's competition; and

WHEREAS, With guidance from his trainer, Joe Hernandez, this dynamic young fighter hopes to compete at the World Championships and perhaps the Olympics before pursuing his career in the professional ranks, and he will surely represent his fellow Texans with dignity and honor as he achieves his goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor Luis Gutierrez for his achievements as an amateur boxer and extend to him best wishes for success at the Everlast Men's U.S. National Boxing Championships; and, be it

1

H.R. No. 496

1 further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for Mr. Gutierrez as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Quintanilla

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woollev Zedler

H.R. No. 496

H.R. No. 496

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 496 was adopted by the House on March 18, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House