H.R. No. 521

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The residents of the city of Longview have for more than a century committed themselves to the pursuit of excellence, and these outstanding Texans have made many important contributions to the culture and economy of the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, Longview, which today serves as the county seat of Gregg County, was founded in 1871, shortly after O. H. Methvin deeded 100 acres of land to the Southern Pacific Railroad; within a few short years the city became an important transportation center, moving enormous quantities of such key commodities as timber, iron ore, cotton, and agricultural crops throughout the South; and

WHEREAS, This runaway economic growth came to a temporary halt during the Great Depression due to the economic conditions of the time as well as to the changing nature of the railroad business; its citizens would not be discouraged for long, however, as in the early 1930s the area was transformed by the discovery of oil--the world's largest oil field known to exist at that time; and

WHEREAS, During World War II, Longview residents provided uniquely critical support to the United States military; in 1942 they helped to build the Big Inch pipeline, which over the next three years would transport more than 261 million barrels of crude oil to the East Coast for refining, thereby ensuring an uninterrupted supply of gas and oil to the U.S. armed forces; in the years that followed the Allied victory, the Longview business community embarked on an ambitious drive to diversify its

H.R. No. 521

- 1 petrochemical industry and to attract manufacturing plants and
- 2 distribution centers; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Ideally situated in the Piney Woods of East Texas, a
- 4 few miles north of the Sabine River, Longview is also renowned for
- 5 its picturesque vistas, and for 25 years it has played host to the
- 6 Great Texas Balloon Race, the longest-running hot-air balloon event
- 7 in the Lone Star State; the city also features many important
- 8 historical and cultural attractions, including the Longview Museum
- 9 of Fine Arts, the Gregg County Historical Museum, and the R. G.
- 10 LeTourneau Museum on the campus of LeTourneau University, and it is
- 11 home to such thriving performing arts groups as Opera Longview, the
- 12 Longview Ballet Theatre, the Longview Community Theater, and the
- 13 Longview Symphony Orchestra; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Since its inception more than a century ago, the
- 15 community of Longview has been an outstanding place in which to
- 16 live, work, and raise a family, and it is most fitting to pay
- 17 tribute to the city and its citizens at this time; now, therefore,
- 18 be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby recognize March 25, 2003, as Longview Day at the
- 21 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for
- 22 an enjoyable and informative stay in Austin.

Merritt

H.R. No. 521

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

	_		
Н	R	$N \cap$	521

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 521 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House