H.R. No. 536

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Midland Downtown Lions Club is celebrating its 2 75th anniversary, and it is most appropriate to take this 3 opportunity to reflect on the history and myriad contributions of 4 this fine organization; and

5 WHEREAS, With 102 founding members, the Midland Downtown 6 Lions Club was established on April 9, 1928, under the leadership of 7 Homer W. Rowe, the club's first president; and

8 WHEREAS, Over the ensuing years, the club has won the respect 9 and admiration of area residents by its service in the community; 10 among the many projects undertaken by the group have been the 11 construction of a wading pool at Cole Park in 1931, bond sales and 12 scrap metal drives to support the war effort during World War II, 13 and more recently the establishment of the Midland Fire Museum and 14 the renovation of the Howard Hodge Theater; and

WHEREAS, The club currently coordinates a successful eyeglass recycling program that benefits vision-impaired people in developing countries around the world; this program has expanded to include the collection and distribution of numerous other health aids, including crutches, walkers, wheelchairs, and hearing aids; and

21 WHEREAS, The members of the Midland Downtown Lions Club have 22 demonstrated a continuing commitment to helping others, and their 23 efforts have built and are building a brighter and more promising 24 future for countless individuals in Midland and around the world;

1

H.R. No. 536

1 now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the Midland Downtown Lions Club on 4 the milestone of the club's 75th anniversary and extend to its 5 members sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the club as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 536

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 536 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House