H.R. No. 539

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Clara Caldwell, president of the Texas State A.
- 2 Philip Randolph Institute (APRI) and the Tideland Chapter of APRI,
- 3 has rendered outstanding service to the working people of Texas;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, APRI is a national organization of black trade
- 6 unionists that builds support in the African American community for
- 7 the trade union movement and that conveys to labor the needs and
- 8 concerns of black Americans; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Caldwell began her longtime advocacy for
- 10 working men and women as a union steward while employed with the
- 11 Weingarten grocery chain; she later became vice president of the
- 12 U.F.C.W. (United Food and Commercial Workers) Union Local 455 and
- 13 subsequently joined the union's staff; this esteemed individual has
- 14 also served as Southwest regional director for APRI and as a
- director for the Texas AFL-CIO; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Since her retirement from the Texas Workers'
- 17 Compensation Commission, Mrs. Caldwell has kept a busy schedule
- 18 with her continuing support of the trade union movement; among her
- 19 affiliations are the Galveston County APRI and Houston APRI, the
- 20 Texas State Employees Union/Communications Workers of America, the
- 21 Texas AFL-CIO 250 COPE, and the Labor Council for Latin American
- 22 Advancement; and
- WHEREAS, An engaged citizen, Mrs. Caldwell has participated
- 24 for many years in the political process; currently a member of

H.R. No. 539

- 1 several area Democratic groups, she formerly served as vice chair
- 2 of the Texas Democratic Party and as a member of the National
- 3 Democratic Committee; and
- WHEREAS, From the time she was a young wife and mother, Mrs.
- 5 Caldwell has juggled her work for labor and political causes with
- 6 caring for her family, which now includes six beloved children and
- 7 five cherished grandchildren; dedicated as well to the welfare of
- 8 the community, she is a member of the League of Women Voters, a life
- 9 member of the NAACP, and a board member of Houston's Sunnyside
- 10 Multi-Service Center; moreover, she is a valued and devoted
- 11 congregant of St. Philip Neri Catholic Church; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Clara Caldwell's committed efforts as a community
- 13 volunteer, politically active citizen, and union leader have
- 14 enriched and inspired members of the greater Houston metropolitan
- 15 area and the state, and it is truly a pleasure to join in paying
- 16 tribute to this exemplary Texan; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby commend Clara Caldwell for her dedication to the
- 19 workers and families of Texas and extend to her warmest best wishes
- 20 for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mrs. Caldwell as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Olivo

H.R. No. 539

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Wise Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

TT	_	3. T	539
н	-	$N \cap$	5 7 U

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 539 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House