H.R. No. 540

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly four decades, the A. Philip Randolph 2 Institute (APRI) has been committed to bettering the quality of

3 life for working Americans; and

WHEREAS, APRI was founded in 1965 by A. Philip Randolph, a prominent labor leader and founder of the modern civil rights movement, and Bayard Rustin, a civil rights and labor activist who was instrumental in organizing the 1963 March on Washington for

8 Jobs and Freedom; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Today, APRI members participate in some 150 chapters in 36 states to achieve the organization's mission of racial equality and economic justice; in furtherance of its goals, APRI works through the democratic process locally and nationally to keep the focus on social, economic, labor, and political issues; and

WHEREAS, The organization's black labor alliance encourages community support for the trade union movement and promotes awareness of the needs and concerns of African Americans; this alliance was active in the successful effort to win passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965 and renewal and strengthening of that act in 1982; and

WHEREAS, In 2003, Clara Caldwell, a Texan and longtime trade union leader, assumed the presidency of APRI; she follows Norman Hill, who served as executive director under the two founders and as president from 1980 until Mrs. Caldwell's elevation to the post; also helping to guide APRI is Leon Lynch, chairman of the board; and

H.R. No. 540

WHEREAS, APRI continues to pursue the dream of a society where the civil rights of all are vigilantly protected and where every member has access to health care, employment, and a decent standard of living; in striving to make these concerns part of the national agenda, it does an enormous service to the residents of this state and country; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor the A. Philip Randolph Institute for its unwavering dedication to social and economic justice for all Americans and extend to all those associated with this vital organization best wishes for success in their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the A. Philip Randolph Institute as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Olivo

H.R. No. 540

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Wise Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

TT	_	3. T	540
н		$N \cap$	5/10

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 540 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House