H.R. No. 576

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Thousands of U.S. troops have been mobilized for
action against the current Iraqi regime; and

3 WHEREAS, This country is united in praying for the safety of 4 these brave men and women and for a swift end to the conflict at 5 hand; the nation prays, too, that the sacrifice and heroism of these 6 troops will make possible the emergence of a new democratic society 7 in Iraq, one that recognizes and protects the dignity of all its 8 people and that draws its strength from their untrammeled talents; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, Americans owe an immeasurable debt to the members of 11 our armed forces, whose efforts have secured this country's own 12 treasured liberties for more than 200 years, and whose devotion to 13 duty, honor, and the cause of freedom is deserving of their fellow 14 citizens' deepest pride and gratitude; and

WHEREAS, At this time of grave crisis, we recognize the American troops deployed to Iraq and the Persian Gulf for the tremendous burdens they have assumed in behalf of their country, and we keep them in our thoughts and hearts as they face the arduous days ahead; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 21 Legislature hereby express its support for the American troops now 22 engaged in the Iraqi campaign and extend to them its profound hopes 23 for a successful conclusion to their mission and their safe return.

McClendon

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren Giddings

Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 576

H.R. No. 576

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 576 was adopted by the House on March 24, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House