RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Hector P. Garcia of Corpus Christi earned 2 nationwide renown as a humanitarian and civil rights advocate; and 3 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, this proud patriot joined the United States Army 4 5 during World War II, immediately after completing his surgical 6 internship; he attained the rank of major in the Medical Corps and earned a Bronze Star with six battle stars for his valorous service; 7 8 and WHEREAS, Following his military discharge, Dr. Garcia opened 9 a medical practice in Corpus Christi, where he often provided free 10 medical care to those who could not afford to pay, and saw the 11 12 effects of discrimination against Mexican Americans; and 13 WHEREAS, This truly notable Texan established the American 14 GI Forum, an organization composed primarily of veterans and dedicated to securing equal rights for American Latinos, 15 throughout his life, he worked for such causes as bilingual 16 education, school desegregation, job creation, and housing; and 17 18 WHEREAS, The American GI Forum today continues to reflect this remarkable humanitarian's deep commitment to treating others 19 with dignity and to working within the system to effect change; and 20 21 WHEREAS, Long active in politics on the state and national

levels, Dr. Garcia was named by President Lyndon B. Johnson as a

member of the National Advisory Council on Economic Opportunity and

the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights and as a delegate to the United

22

23

24

- 1 Nations, and President Ronald Reagan awarded him the Presidential
- 2 Medal of Freedom; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Beloved by the people of Corpus Christi, "Dr.
- 4 Hector" was accorded many well-deserved accolades, including
- 5 having a city park, a post office, and Memorial Medical Center's
- 6 indigent health clinic named for him; in addition, he received the
- 7 first honorary doctorate conferred by Texas A&M University--Corpus
- 8 Christi, which also erected a statue of him and dedicated a plaza on
- 9 campus in his honor; in 1990, he was further lauded for his
- 10 exceptional endeavors by Pope John Paul II; and
- 11 WHEREAS, A man of tremendous decency and compassion, Dr.
- 12 Garcia devoted his life to the service of others, and through his
- 13 unrelenting efforts the country he cherished achieved a fuller
- 14 realization of its highest ideals; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Dr. Hector P. Garcia
- for his immeasurable contributions as a physician and as a leader in
- 18 the struggle to guarantee civil rights for all Americans.

Luna Seaman Capelo

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 580 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 26, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House