H.R. No. 603

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Reaching the pinnacle of success in his sport, 1 2 Trevor Brazile of Anson has been named the 2002 All-Around Cowboy of 3 the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA); and WHEREAS, Rodeo is a challenging and often perilous sport that 4 5 requires both extraordinary physical skill and outstanding 6 concentration to successfully compete at the highest level, and Mr. Brazile has shown himself to be a world champion in this regard; and 7 WHEREAS, This exceptional athlete has earned numerous 8 accolades throughout his rodeo career on local, state, and national 9 levels; just two years after joining the PRCA, Mr. Brazile showed 10 11 his mettle by becoming the 1998 Timed Event Champion of the World, 12 which has proven to be the first of a growing number of championships for him; and 13 14 WHEREAS, In 2002, already established as the reserve world steer roping champion, Mr. Brazile came to the Wrangler National 15 16 Finals Rodeo in Las Vegas as one of only 12 cowboys to qualify for three events: calf roping, team roping, and steer roping; in the 17 18 10th and final round, in front of a sold-out crowd of 17,681 at the Thomas & Mack Center, his determination and hard work were justly 19 rewarded when he claimed the coveted world title; and 20 21 WHEREAS, The sport of rodeo occupies a prominent place in our 22 state's rich athletic heritage, and Mr. Brazile has added another 23 memorable chapter to the enduring legacy of athletic excellence in

the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

24

H.R. No. 603

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Trevor Brazile on becoming the 2002
RPCA All-Around World Champion and extend to him sincere best
wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Brazile as an expression of high regard by the

Texas House of Representatives.

7

Miller

H.R. No. 603

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

TT	_	3. T	\sim
н	ν	$N \cap$	h() -

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 603 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House