RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dallas firefighter Wayne Kevin Clarke died in the 2 line of duty on February 12, 2003, at the age of 46, and the tragic

3 passing of this heroic individual has deeply saddened the community

4 he served and all who were privileged to know him; and

5 WHEREAS, This noble gentleman exemplified, in his personal

and professional conduct, the singular virtues of courage,

7 integrity, and unwavering dedication; and

6

9

10

11

12

19

20

23

8 WHEREAS, A native of Trinidad, West Indies, Mr. Clarke came

to the United States in 1971 and served in the U.S. Air Force for 20

years; after completing his military service, he worked in a

halfway home for troubled youth and with a government agency before

joining the Dallas Fire Rescue Department to pursue his dream of

13 becoming a paramedic firefighter; and

14 WHEREAS, Though his tenure with the department was far too

15 brief, Wayne Clarke had already distinguished himself among his

16 peers and had carried out his duties in a manner consistent with the

17 highest ideals of the fire-fighting profession; and

18 WHEREAS, Wayne Clarke was a passionate defender of life and

property, and while he will be greatly missed, the legacy he leaves

behind will not soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

22 Legislature hereby honor the life of Wayne Kevin Clarke and extend

sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Jin; to

24 his son, Hyun Woo; to his daughter, Nakome; and to his many other

- 1 friends and relatives; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 4 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Wayne
- 5 Kevin Clarke.

Wolens Harper-Brown Davis of Dallas Hartnett Hodge

Reyna Branch Giddings Keffer of Dallas

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 622 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 2, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House