H.R. No. 623

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dallas firefighter Michael Lee Depauw, died in the 2 line of duty on December 3, 2002, at the age of 51, and the tragic 3 passing of this heroic individual has deeply saddened the community 4 he served and all who were privileged to know him; and

5 WHEREAS, Captain Depauw exemplified, in his personal and 6 professional conduct, the singular virtues of courage, integrity, 7 and unwavering dedication; and

8 WHEREAS, When not serving with the Dallas Fire Department, he 9 was a contractor and builder; he derived great joy from helping 10 others and no doubt made an immeasurable difference in the lives of 11 many; and

12 WHEREAS, Throughout his 30 years with the Dallas Fire 13 Department, Captain Depauw established a record of meritorious 14 service, loyalty, personal courage, and self-sacrifice consistent 15 with the highest ideals of the fire-fighting profession; and

16 WHEREAS, Michael Depauw was a passionate defender of life and 17 property, and while he will be greatly missed, the legacy of 18 integrity and bravery he leaves behind will not soon be forgotten; 19 now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 21 Legislature hereby honor the life of Michael Lee Depauw and extend 22 sincere sympathy to his family: to his wife, Sharon; to his sons, 23 Scott and Chris; to his daughters, Katie and Jill; and to his many 24 friends and relatives; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 623

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 3 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Michael 4 Lee Depauw.

> Wolens Harper-Brown Davis of Dallas Hartnett Hodge

Reyna Branch Giddings Keffer of Dallas

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 623

H.R. No. 623

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 623 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 2, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House