RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dallas firefighter Gerald Wayne Fields died in the
- 2 line of duty on March 10, 2001, at the age of 53, and the tragic
- 3 passing of this heroic individual has deeply saddened the community
- 4 he served and all who were privileged to know him; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Gerald Fields exemplified, in his personal and
- 6 professional conduct, the singular virtues of courage, integrity,
- 7 and unwavering dedication; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Born April 30, 1947, in Dallas, Mr. Fields was a
- 9 resident of DeSoto and a member of the Cold Springs Church of
- 10 Christ; active in his community, he had served as president of the
- 11 DeSoto Lions Club and further shared his leadership as a
- 12 participant in the DeSoto PTA, Boy Scouts of America Troop No. 141,
- 13 Dallas Firefighters Association Local No. 58, and the Black
- 14 Firefighters Association; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout his 23 years with the Dallas Fire
- 16 Department, this outstanding public servant established a record of
- 17 meritorious service, loyalty, personal courage, and self-sacrifice
- 18 consistent with the highest ideals of the fire-fighting profession;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, Gerald Fields was a passionate defender of life and
- 21 property, and while he will be greatly missed, the legacy of
- 22 integrity and bravery he leaves behind will not soon be forgotten;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby honor the life of Gerald Wayne Fields and extend
- 2 sincere sympathy to his family: to his wife, Hazel Ann Fields; to
- 3 his daughter and son-in-law, Monica Ann and Gary Bussell; to his
- 4 daughter, Hillary Nicole Fields; to his son, Michael Wayne Fields;
- 5 and to his many friends and relatives; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 8 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Gerald
- 9 Wayne Fields.

Wolens
Harper-Brown
Davis of Dallas
Hartnett
Hodge

Reyna Branch Giddings Keffer of Dallas

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 624 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 2, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House