RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dallas firefighter Vincent Llyonell Davis died in
- 2 the line of duty on February 11, 2002, and the tragic passing of
- 3 this heroic individual has deeply saddened the community he served
- 4 and all who were privileged to know him; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Vincent Davis exemplified, in his personal and
- 6 professional conduct, the singular virtues of courage, integrity,
- 7 and unwavering dedication; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A native of East St. Louis, Illinois, he worked as an
- 9 architectural draftsman for the City of Dallas before becoming a
- 10 firefighter in 1990; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Throughout his 10 years with the Dallas Fire
- 12 Department, this outstanding public servant established a record of
- 13 meritorious service, loyalty, personal courage, and self-sacrifice
- 14 consistent with the highest ideals of the fire-fighting profession;
- 15 and
- WHEREAS, Vincent Davis was a passionate defender of life and
- 17 property, and while he will be greatly missed, the legacy of
- integrity and bravery he leaves behind will not soon be forgotten;
- 19 now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby honor the life of Vincent Llyonell Davis and
- 22 extend sincere sympathy to his family: to his wife, Dorothy; to his
- 23 children, Tiffany, Kiarra, Brittany, Breyana, and Vincent Davis,
- 24 Jr.; and to his many friends and relatives; and, be it further

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House

3 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Vincent

4 Llyonell Davis.

Wolens Reyna Davis of Dallas Hartnett Hodge Harper-Brown Branch Giddings Keffer of Dallas

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 625 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 2, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House