H.R. No. 628

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, W. T. "Tommy" Guerra of Roma has been selected as the
- 2 first Hispanic president of the Independent Cattlemen's
- 3 Association of Texas (ICA), and he is truly deserving of special
- 4 recognition for this historic accomplishment; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A fourth-generation cattle rancher, Mr. Guerra
- 6 holds a bachelor's degree in business administration from The
- 7 University of Texas at Austin and operates a cattle business with
- 8 his son and grandson; this devoted family man is also active in the
- 9 banking industry and serves as a director of Citizens State Bank of
- 10 Roma; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Founded in 1974, the ICA was established to
- 12 represent the interests of the state's small- to medium-sized cow
- 13 and calf producers; formed by 17 independent ranchers, the
- 14 association now represents the interests of more than 3,000
- 15 ranching families from throughout the state; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Guerra has been a member of the ICA for 15 years,
- 17 and during that time he has distinguished himself as a state
- 18 director for six years and as a member of the organization's
- 19 executive board for six years; his dedication to his fellow
- 20 ranchers has gained him their lasting respect, and his leadership
- 21 as state president of the ICA will surely lead to continued progress
- 22 for the cattle industry in Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate W. T. "Tommy" Guerra on his

H.R. No. 628

- 1 selection as the first Hispanic president of the Independent
- 2 Cattlemen's Association of Texas and extend to him best wishes for a
- 3 successful and productive term of office; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Guerra as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 628

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel HillPuente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

 _	3.7	628
	$N \cap$	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 628 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House