H.R. No. 646

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The DeSoto High School Eagles boys' basketball team 2 captured the Class 5A state championship on March 8, 2003, capping a 3 remarkable season with the ultimate achievement; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles defeated Corpus Christi Ray High School
94-73 at the Frank Erwin Center to earn the school's first state
basketball championship; guided by head coach Chris Dyer and
assistant coaches David Martinez and Kory McIver, the team romped
through the playoffs, beating a host of talented high school
basketball teams on its way to the championship; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

WHEREAS, After barely missing the playoffs in the 2001-2002 season, the Eagles entered this season determined to fully embrace Coach Dyer's philosophy of selflessness and tenacious defense; the efforts of this veteran team resulted in a remarkable 33-6 record and possession of the coveted state title; and

WHEREAS, Team members include championship game MVP Dez Willingham and fellow seniors James Williams, Will Gant, Barry Williams, Chris Christian, Hampton Alexander, Charles Stoker, and Trey Gilder; the team also relied on juniors Dwight Coleman, Derrick Wilbourn, Rodney Jackson, and Gerad Coward, sophomore Roderick Flemings, and freshmen Ronnie Morgan and Jermaine Beal; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding student athletes can be justifiably proud of their accomplishments on the basketball court, for they have brought the DeSoto High School boys' basketball team

H.R. No. 646

- 1 its first state title and established a tradition of excellence for
- 2 future generations to follow; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the DeSoto High
- 5 School boys' basketball team and their coaches on winning the Class
- 6 5A state basketball championship and extend to them best wishes for
- 7 continued success in their future endeavors; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas Giddings

TT	-	7. T	~ 1
н	-	$N \cap$	646

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 646 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House