H.R. No. 657

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The San Antonio Chapter of the NAACP Youth Council is holding its Annual Youth Image Awards Banquet on April 19, 2003, and this event provides a fitting opportunity to honor the

organization and its members; and

WHEREAS, Reaching more than 67,000 youth worldwide, the Youth and College Division of the NAACP was established in 1936 in an effort to inspire young people to take an interest in civic activities, to educate them about contemporary issues, and to equip them with the leadership skills essential for successfully implementing community-related projects; and

WHEREAS, The organization's Youth Image Awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of African-American and other minority youth between the ages of 10 and 18 in the fields of arts, academics, military science, athletics, leadership, journalism/publishing, community service, health careers, business, and vocational education; also being honored during this year's banquet are Mr. and Miss NAACP, as well as students who have achieved significant improvement in their grades; and

WHEREAS, The NAACP Youth Council contributes greatly to the strength of this state by encouraging, empowering, and rewarding young Texans who strive for excellence, an endeavor that is building a brighter and more promising future for all Texas residents; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 657

- 1 Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the San
- 2 Antonio Chapter of the NAACP Youth Council on the organization's
- 3 myriad civic contributions and extend to them sincere best wishes
- 4 for a memorable and enjoyable annual banquet; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the San Antonio Chapter of the NAACP Youth Council as
- 7 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

TT	_	7. T	\sim \sim \sim
	-	$N \cap$	6 5 /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 657 was adopted by the House on April 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House