## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The passing of former State Representative Robert G.

2 Bush III on May 14, 2002, at the age of 66, has brought a great loss

to the community of Sherman as well as to the citizens of the Lone

Star State, whom he so faithfully served during his decade-long

5 tenure in the Texas House of Representatives; and

6 WHEREAS, Born in Kansas City, Missouri, Mr. Bush received

degrees from the University of Kansas and Southern Methodist

University before embarking on a successful legal career in

Sherman; this distinguished attorney was elected to the legislature

of his adopted state in 1976 and quickly established himself as a

11 leader of integrity, intelligence, and compassion; and

12 WHEREAS, Representative Bush was appointed to three

consecutive terms as chair of the House Judiciary Committee and was

twice unanimously elected by his peers to serve as house majority

15 leader; selected to serve as the first master of discovery in an

election contest conducted by the Texas Legislature,

17 Representative Bush was responsible for the passage of significant

legislation as well, including a landmark measure modifying the

19 Texas Natural Death Act, which enabled terminally ill patients to

make oral directives regarding their desire to have life-sustaining

21 procedures withheld; and

3

4

7

8

9

10

13

14

16

18

20

WHEREAS, Mr. Bush was also committed to protecting our

23 state's youngest citizens; honored in 1985 by the State Bar of Texas

24 as one of the Ten Best Legislators from a Family Law Perspective, he

- 1 helped found the Sherman Boys and Girls Club and served as chairman
- of the Grayson County Child Welfare Board; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Widely respected in his profession, Mr. Bush served
- 4 on numerous committees of the State Bar of Texas and held the post
- of associate director of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association; he
- 6 shared his expertise with others as a law instructor at Grayson
- 7 County College, as a speaker at various legal conferences, and as a
- 8 contributor to the Texas Trial Lawyers Forum, the Texas Bar
- 9 Journal, and the Texas Observer; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Over the course of his career as an attorney, civic
- 11 leader, and state representative, Mr. Bush was supported by his
- 12 beloved wife, Wanda, with whom he shared his life for four decades;
- 13 and
- WHEREAS, An extraordinarily accomplished and caring man, Bob
- 15 Bush worked tirelessly to build a strong, just society, and his
- 16 memory will long be cherished by all who were privileged to know
- 17 him; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of the Honorable
- 20 Robert G. Bush III and extend heartfelt sympathy to his wife, Wanda
- 21 Baker Bush, and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it
- 22 further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Mrs. Bush and that when the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of former
- 26 State Representative Bob Bush.

Phillips

Giddings Craddick Merritt Allen Goodman Miller Alonzo Goolsby Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Bailey Griggs Grusendorf Baxter Morrison Mowery Berman Guillen Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Branch Hamilton Noriega Brown of Kaufman Hamric Oliveira Brown of Brazos Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Hartnett Heflin Callegari Pena Campbell Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hilderbran Capelo Pitts Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Smithee Solis Jones of Dallas Dawson Solomons Delisi Keel Stick Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland Denny Swinford Deshotel Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Krusee Thompson Dunnam Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Laney Turner Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Villarreal Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry West Madden Wilson Farabee Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn Gallego Wong McClendon Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler Geren Mercer

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 669 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 3, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House