H.R. No. 684

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A number of students participating in the Empowering
Teen Leaders Program have come to the State Capitol on this day,
April 3, 2003, to observe the legislative process firsthand; and

WHEREAS, Established under the auspices of the Leadership 4 5 Center in conjunction with Texas Cooperative Extension of The Texas 6 A&M University System, the Empowering Teen Leaders Program helps to instill in young people the knowledge and skills essential to 7 becoming future leaders; through their involvement in this worthy 8 endeavor, these students have demonstrated initiative and maturity 9 beyond their years, as well as an enthusiastic commitment to 10 11 contributing to the betterment of their communities through 12 volunteerism; and

WHEREAS, Since 1992, more than 450 students have completed 13 14 the Empowering Teen Leaders Program and drawn on their training to make a positive difference in the lives of their peers; to that end, 15 program members encourage others to steer clear of drugs and gangs 16 work toward improved literacy, increased 17 and community involvement, and greater respect for their fellow citizens; and 18

WHEREAS, The Empowering Teen Leaders Program teaches young people the power they have to change lives for the better by giving them the tools they need to make the world around them a brighter place for all its citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby commend those Texans whose efforts have made the

1

H.R. No. 684

Empowering Teen Leaders Program the resounding success it is today and extend warmest best wishes to the program's participants for an educational and memorable visit to the seat of Texas government; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the Empowering Teen Leaders Program as an expression 7 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Heflin

H.R. No. 684

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 684 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House