H.R. No. 686

RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to recognize Dr. Johann Deisenhofer, regental professor of
- 3 biochemistry and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at
- 4 The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, for
- 5 his many contributions to medical research and education; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A recipient of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1988,
- 7 Dr. Deisenhofer used X-rays on crystals of proteins to reveal the
- 8 process of photosynthesis, which is described by the Royal Swedish
- 9 Academy of Sciences as the most important chemical reaction on
- 10 Earth; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This invaluable discovery led to a more accurate
- 12 understanding of the structure of proteins essential to life,
- 13 benefiting the field of medicine and patients throughout the world;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, A dedicated professor and research leader at
- 16 Southwestern Medical Center for 15 years, Dr. Deisenhofer has
- 17 contributed to a greater understanding of medical science and to
- 18 the teaching of science in Texas; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The people of the State of Texas are fortunate to
- 20 have such a gifted scientist as Dr. Deisenhofer as a part of The
- 21 University of Texas System during the past 15 years; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Johann Deisenhofer for his important

H.R. No. 686

- 1 contributions to medical and scientific education and to the
- 2 furtherance of biomedical understanding and discovery and extend to
- 3 him best wishes for success in his future endeavors; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Dr. Deisenhofer as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Wolens Giddings Keffer of Dallas Alonzo Hodge Goolsby Harper-Brown Driver

H.R. No. 686

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

TT	_	3. T	686
ш	ט	$N \cap$	696

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 686 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House