H.R. No. 687

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to 2 recognize Dr. Michael S. Brown, regental professor and director of
- 3 the Erik Jonsson Center for Research in Molecular Genetics and
- 4 Human Disease at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical
- 5 Center at Dallas, for his many contributions to medical research
- 6 and education; and
- WHEREAS, A recipient of the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1985
- 8 and the National Medal of Science, Dr. Brown and his distinguished
- 9 colleague at UT Southwestern discovered the low-density
- 10 lipoprotein receptor, which controls the level of cholesterol in
- 11 blood and in cells; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This invaluable finding led to a new understanding
- of a disorder that leads to premature heart attacks in millions of
- 14 Americans and to the development of drugs to alleviate the disease,
- benefiting the field of medicine and patients throughout the world;
- 16 and
- 17 WHEREAS, A dedicated professor and research leader at
- 18 Southwestern Medical Center for more than three decades, Dr. Brown
- 19 has contributed to a greater understanding of medical science and
- 20 to the teaching of science in Texas; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The people of the State of Texas are fortunate to
- 22 have such a gifted scientist as Dr. Brown as a part of The
- 23 University of Texas System during the past 31 years; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 687

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Michael S. Brown for his important 3 contributions to medical and scientific education and to the 4 furtherance of biomedical understanding and discovery and extend to him best wishes for success in his future endeavors; and, be it 5 6 further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 8 prepared for Dr. Brown as an expression of high regard by the Texas

> Wolens Giddings Keffer of Dallas Alonzo

9

House of Representatives.

Hodge Goolsby Harper-Brown Driver

H.R. No. 687

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

H	. R .	No.	687

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 687 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House