H.R. No. 688

## RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to recognize Dr. Joseph L. Goldstein, regental professor and chairman of molecular genetics at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, for his many contributions to medical
- research and education; and

  WHEREAS, A recipient of the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1985

  and the National Medal of Science, Dr. Goldstein and his

  distinguished colleague at UT Southwestern discovered the
- 9 low-density lipoprotein receptor, which controls the level of
- 10 cholesterol in blood and in cells; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This invaluable finding led to a new understanding
- of a disorder that leads to premature heart attacks in millions of
- 13 Americans and to the development of drugs to alleviate the disease,
- 14 benefiting the field of medicine and patients throughout the world;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, A dedicated professor and research leader at
- 17 Southwestern Medical Center for more than three decades, Dr.
- 18 Goldstein has contributed to a greater understanding of medical
- 19 science and to the teaching of science in Texas; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The people of the State of Texas are fortunate to
- 21 have had such a gifted scientist as Dr. Goldstein as a part of The
- 22 University of Texas System during the past 31 years; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 688

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Joseph L. Goldstein for his important
- 2 contributions to medical and scientific education and to the
- 3 furtherance of biomedical understanding and discovery and extend to
- 4 him best wishes for success in his future endeavors; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Dr. Goldstein as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Wolens Giddings Keffer of Dallas Alonzo Hodge Goolsby Harper-Brown Driver

## H.R. No. 688

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Keel Stick Delisi Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

	_	3.7	688
ш	1)	$N \cap$	600

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 688 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House