H.R. No. 689

## RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to recognize Dr. Alfred G. Gilman, regental professor and chairman of pharmacology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
- 4 at Dallas, for his many contributions to medicine and medical
- 5 education; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A recipient of the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1994,
- 7 Dr. Gilman discovered, characterized, and purified a set of guanine
- 8 nucleotide-binding regulatory proteins termed "G proteins"; and
- 9 WHEREAS, This invaluable discovery revealed how cells
- 10 communicate to control the most fundamental processes in the human
- 11 body and opened the way for the development of new therapies for
- 12 many major diseases, benefiting the field of medicine and patients
- 13 throughout the world; and
- 14 WHEREAS, A dedicated professor and research leader at
- 15 Southwestern Medical Center for more than two decades, Dr. Gilman
- 16 has contributed to a greater understanding of medical science and
- 17 to the teaching of science in Texas; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The people of the State of Texas are fortunate to
- 19 have such a gifted scientist as Dr. Gilman as a part of The
- 20 University of Texas System during the past 22 years; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Alfred G. Gilman for his important
- 24 contributions to medical and scientific education and to the

H.R. No. 689

- 1 furtherance of biomedical understanding and discovery and extend to
- 2 him best wishes for success in his future endeavors; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Dr. Gilman as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Wolens Giddings Keffer of Dallas Alonzo Hodge Goolsby Harper-Brown Driver

## H.R. No. 689

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

	_	3.7	689
ш	1)	NΩ	/a O ()

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 689 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House