H.R. No. 692

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas women's basketball team has 2 returned to elite status by earning a place in the 2003 NCAA Women's 3 Final Four, the school's first appearance in that prestigious event 4 in 17 years; and

5 WHEREAS, Having claimed both the Big 12 regular season and 6 conference tournament titles, Texas was rewarded with the No. 2 7 seed in the West Region of the NCAA tournament, and defeated 8 Hampton, Arkansas, and Minnesota in successive tournament games; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, Texas faced top-seeded Louisiana State in the West 11 Regional final, but the Lady Longhorns proved more than equal to the 12 monumental task, completely dominating their opponent 78-60 to win 13 a coveted berth in the Final Four in Atlanta; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Longhorns' return to national prominence is the result of total dedication to the team concept by players Tamra Cobbins, Jody Bell, Kala Bowers, Alisha Sare, Jamie Carey, Tai Dillard, Stephanie Thiel, Janna Jesperson, Heather Schreiber, Nina Norman, Coco Reed, BranDee Fry, Stacy Stephens, Annissa Hastings, and Mercedes Williams; and

20 WHEREAS, Legendary head coach Jody Conradt, who this year 21 surpassed the 800-victory mark in her illustrious career, inspired 22 her young charges to perform at the highest possible level, and she 23 was ably supported in her endeavors by associate head coach Karen 24 Aston, and assistant coaches Fred Applin and Kathy Harston; and

1

H.R. No. 692

1 WHEREAS, This year's Lady Longhorns squad has added another 2 memorable chapter to the storied history of women's basketball at 3 The University of Texas and the team is indeed worthy of special 4 legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of The University of 7 Texas women's basketball team on advancing to the NCAA 2003 Final 8 Four and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in 9 their quest for the national championship; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of 12 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Merritt Van Arsdale Rose Pitts Elkins Alonzo Berman Bohac Branch Brown of Brazos Capelo Castro Cook of Colorado Corte Crownover Dawson Delisi Denny Driver Edwards Farabee Flynn Goolsby Garza Guillen Hamilton Harper-Brown Hartnett Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Hupp Jones of Bexar Keel Krusee Luna Madden McCall Menendez Morrison Naishtat Raymond Reyna Riddle Rodriguez Smith of Tarrant Solis Solomons Stick Talton Thompson

H.R. No. 692

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 692 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House