H.R. No. 695

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2003 marks the 10th anniversary of the 2 Center for Public Policy Dispute Resolution in Texas, and this 3 important occasion offers an excellent opportunity to recognize 4 this outstanding organization; and

5 WHEREAS, The groundwork for the establishment of the center 6 was laid in the early 1990s by the State Bar's Standing Committee on 7 Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR); working in conjunction with a 8 number of state entities, the committee acquired a grant from the 9 National Institute for Dispute Resolution, and in the spring of 10 1993 the center officially opened at The University of Texas School 11 of Law; and

12 WHEREAS, In its 10-year existence, the center has offered a 13 range of alternative dispute resolution training to more than 3,500 14 individuals in the public and private sectors; these efforts have 15 helped to encourage the use of ADR processes throughout the state, 16 providing a new avenue for resolving disputes, while also easing 17 the burden on the court system; and

18 WHEREAS, Executive director Jan Summer has guided the center 19 since its inception, capably overseeing such initiatives as the 20 Public Policy Fellows program and the ADR Fellows program; she is 21 aided in her efforts by deputy director Susan Schultz, program 22 director Tracy Tarver, program director and natural resource 23 specialist Margaret Menicucci, administrative associate Vicki 24 Read, and administrative assistant Natalie Gray; and

1

## H.R. No. 695

1 WHEREAS, Alternative dispute resolution has benefited 2 countless Texans, either directly or indirectly, and the Center for 3 Public Policy Dispute Resolution in Texas and its staff and faculty 4 members are to be commended for their positive contributions to 5 this worthwhile endeavor; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize the 10th anniversary of the Center for 8 Public Policy Dispute Resolution in Texas and extend best wishes to 9 its staff.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 695

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 695 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House