H.R. No. 703

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Iraan High School boys' and girls' cross-country 2 teams have each claimed the 2002 1A state championship title, 3 proving themselves to be superior athletes and fine competitors; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Having won the previous year's state meet, the Iraan 6 boys' team continued its rise to prominence in the sport of 7 cross-country by winning its second state championship after 8 already garnering district and regional titles; team members are 9 Payden Ward, Baldamar Ibarra, Oscar Barrera, Brandon Gentry, Danny 10 Gomez, Brent Lutz, Juan Balderas, and Jose Solis; and

11 WHEREAS, The Iraan girls' team has demonstrated superb 12 athleticism by winning district and regional competitions and 13 capping off its stellar season with a state championship victory; 14 team members are Rachel Green, Danielle Malone, Rikita Urias, 15 Clarissa Callahan, Devin Vay, Ashley Holmes, Jana Smart, Crystal 16 Gardner, Ashley Leffler, Cymantha Ledford, Caitlin Yocom, Mandi 17 Spittler, Landry Jernigan, and Khera Vay; and

18 WHEREAS, The determination and competitive spirit of all the 19 talented members of the Iraan High School boys' and girls' 20 cross-country teams are commendable, and these remarkable 21 student-athletes are truly deserving of special recognition for 22 their achievements during the 2002 season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate the members and coaches of the

1

H.R. No. 703

I Iraan High School boys' and girls' cross-country teams on their exemplary performance at the 2002 state championships and extend to them warmest best wishes for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for team members and coaches as an expression of high 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 703

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 703 was adopted by the House on April 15, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House