H.R. No. 712

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, San Antonio's Sam Houston High School girls' 2 basketball team captured the Region IV championship and advanced to 3 the semifinals of the 2003 state championship tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Hurricanes completed their season with a remarkable 34-3 record and joined the Sam Houston High School boys' basketball team to become the first two teams from the San Antonio Independent School District to compete in the state tournament in the same sport during the same season; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, Led by head coach Charlotte Jones and assistant coaches Carmana Fennell and Emarie Randle, the Lady Hurricanes demonstrated excellence both on and off the hardwood, focusing on basketball fundamentals, good sportsmanship, and commitment to teamwork throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, Team members include seniors Ashley Francis, Britnie Dominique, Michelle Johnekins, Deserea Chapman, Alex Neuls, Tashina Hughes, Danetta Simpson, and Vonetta Simpson; juniors Y'Aisha Edwards, Jessica Stewart, and Shannon Harrison; sophomore Tianna Oliver; and freshmen Jasmine Stewart, Ashley Cox, and Laketa Nations; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary student-athletes can be justifiably proud of their accomplishments and achievements, and the lessons they have learned during this special season will undoubtedly provide a foundation for future success in all their endeavors; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 712

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

 Legislature hereby congratulate coach Charlotte Jones and the

 members of the Sam Houston High School girls' basketball team on
- 4 their fine season and extend to them best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

McClendon

Η.	R .	No.	712

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 712 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House