H.R. No. 738

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ten students at The University of Texas School of
2 Law were selected to receive this year's UT Co-Op Public Interest
3 Awards totaling \$50,000 for their exceptional work in providing
4 legal assistance and representation to Texans of all ages and
5 backgrounds; these students, who will graduate on May 17, 2003,
6 include Layla Aflatooni, Andrea Beleno, Luis Figueroa, Shavondalyn
7 Givens, Eliza Hirst, Christina Mann, Marilee Manning, Katherine

Saunders, Erica Schommer, and Shannon Lee Snead; and

WHEREAS, Chosen by William Powers, dean of The University of Texas School of Law, with the assistance of Eden Harrington, the director of the Center for Public Interest Law, the students have provided legal aid to victims of domestic violence, to indigent and low-income Texans, to death row inmates, and to abused and neglected children; they have also helped combat employment discrimination and promoted international human rights and have worked with the Texas Legislature, state agencies, communities, and nonprofit groups on a wide variety of issues; and

WHEREAS, Through their work in public service, these honorees have demonstrated great compassion and an unwavering dedication to creating a stronger and more just society, and their selfless actions are a source of inspiration to all who know them; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the 2003 recipients of The

H.R. No. 738

- 1 University of Texas Co-Op Public Interest Awards and extend to them
- 2 warmest best wishes for continued success and happiness in their
- 3 future endeavors; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 5 for these students as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Hodge Naishtat

H.R. No. 738

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hilderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Keel Stick Delisi Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

H.R.	No.	738

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 738 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House