By: Hodge

H.R. No. 738

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Ten students at The University of Texas School of 1 2 Law were selected to receive this year's UT Co-Op Public Interest Awards totaling \$50,000 for their exceptional work in providing 3 legal assistance and representation to Texans of all ages and 4 5 backgrounds; these students, who will graduate on May 17, 2003, include Layla Aflatooni, Andrea Beleno, Luis Figueroa, Shavondalyn 6 Givens, Eliza Hirst, Christina Mann, Marilee Manning, Katherine 7 Saunders, Erica Schommer, and Shannon Lee Snead; and 8

WHEREAS, Chosen by William Powers, dean of The University of 9 Texas School of Law, with the assistance of Eden Harrington, the 10 director of the Center for Public Interest Law, the students have 11 12 provided legal aid to victims of domestic violence, to indigent and low-income Texans, to death row inmates, and to abused and 13 14 neglected children; they have also helped combat employment discrimination and promoted international human rights and have 15 16 worked with the Texas Legislature, state agencies, communities, and nonprofit groups on a wide variety of issues; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Through their work in public service, these honorees 19 have demonstrated great compassion and an unwavering dedication to 20 creating a stronger and more just society, and their selfless 21 actions are a source of inspiration to all who know them; now, 22 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate the 2003 recipients of The

1

University of Texas Co-Op Public Interest Awards and extend to them warmest best wishes for continued success and happiness in their future endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared

H.R. No. 738

KESOLVED, Hat Official copies of this resolution be prepared
for these students as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.