H.R. No. 744

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The congregants of Covenant Missionary Baptist
- 2 Church in Lancaster, Texas, are deeply appreciative of Pastor Kevin
- 3 Eugene Rodgers I, their spiritual leader for the past six years, and
- 4 on April 27, 2003, they are celebrating his 26-year career in the
- 5 ministry; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A native of Little Rock, Arkansas, this esteemed
- 7 clergyman graduated from Central High School and attended Dallas
- 8 Baptist University and Bishop College; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Pastor Rodgers was called to the ministry at the age
- 10 of 10 at Greater Friendship Baptist Church in Little Rock and was
- 11 licensed the following year at the same church; he was ordained to
- 12 the ministry at the age of 16 at New Hope Baptist Church in North
- 13 Little Rock and later served at Greater South Central Baptist
- 14 Church in Dallas, Harmony Baptist Church and Fellowship Missionary
- 15 Baptist Church in Sherman, and Temple Baptist Church in Cleveland,
- Ohio, before he was called to Covenant Missionary Baptist Church;
- 17 and
- WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Pastor Rodgers enjoys the love
- 19 and support of his wife, Kay, and their three children, Kevin,
- 20 Kaylan, and Kindra; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Pastor Rodgers demonstrates a deep commitment to the
- 22 spiritual well-being of others, and it is a pleasure to join in
- 23 paying tribute to him at this time; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 744

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Pastor Kevin Eugene Rodgers I on
- 2 the joyous occasion of his 26th anniversary in the ministry and six
- 3 years of leading the congregation of Covenant Missionary Baptist
- 4 Church; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Pastor Rodgers as an expression of high regard and best
- 7 wishes by the Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

TT	D	NT a	744
н	ĸ	$N \cap$	/ 4 4

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 744 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House